Church in the Wildwood Gets a Renovation and a Fresh Coat of Whitewash

A while ago, I got some professional feedback on Church in the Wildwood, my first font ever. I decided to take it to heart, because I thought it would be a great learning experience. Now I feel like I have learned a lot and will be armed with more knowledge and experience for my next font family. I’ll skip to the present, a year later, after on-and-off editing, changes, reworking, and hours in Illustrator and Glyphs App: I’m very pleased to re-release an all-new Church in the Wildwood!

CWW-Cover-2

You can check it out in my shop. If you’ve already purchased Church in the Wildwood, I think you’ll really love the updates and new features. Just re-download it on Creative Market completely free!

For new customers, I’m now running a re-intro offer on Creative Market and Etsy – you can pick up the Church in the Wildwood Complete Family for just $20 until August 30.

UPDATE: After August 30, the font family is back up to its normal price. I’ll announce any other sales and promos on Twitter!

I should have taken the time to write about Church in the Wildwood last August when I originally released it. If you feel so inspired, read on for the story behind Church in the Wildwood, and a breakdown of the new features below.

The Background Story

As I mentioned above, CWW was my first font, and as such was a huge experiment. I had wanted to create a font ever since I became an unofficial font collector in college. After graduating, building my skills, and doing a bit of research in font building, I began to realize it might be possible- and affordable. I also began flipping through old type foundry catalogs from the turn of the century and discovered I really liked vintage fonts. I know, everyone is wild about vintage typography these days. It’s perfectly charming, and that is what I thought when I saw this type specimen in Frederick Ullmer’s Type Foundry Catalog:

Screen Shot 2013-07-10 at 10.26.57 PMHaving only the above sample to use as a reference, I set about creating these characters in Adobe Illustrator, then took a deep breath and created the rest of the characters from scratch. Never being one to leave well enough alone, I then created bold and slim weights, added some shadow weights, and began the tricky task of replicating and imitating the sweet little ornamental caps. From those emerged ornaments, frames, and rule lines. A multiplicative process like this one is fairly typical where I am concerned. What begins as a simple “What if…” usually turns into an epic thing. The same is true of the Banner Shoppe and the Brush Studio, and I would be remiss if I did not mention Sunday Best.

I bought a copy of Glyphs Mini (an excellent entry-level app for creating fonts on the Mac) and set about making this crazy dream a reality. It really is pretty exciting to learn a new skill like this.

I was satisfied with the initial release of Church in the Wildwood. I was able to pay for the font editing software a couple times over, and the product even got featured, to my surprise and delight, in a blog post of staff picks at Creative Market.

CWW-Cover-4

The New Features of Church in the Wildwood, v2.0

Reorganizing Church in the Wildwood

Church in the Wildwood is now reorganized into the following sub-families:

  • CWW (4 Fonts)
  • CWW Catchwords (6 Fonts)
  • CWW Extras (3 Fonts)
  • CWW Inspired (5 Fonts)
  • CWW Shadows (6 Fonts)

Features

All-New Weights!

I’m pretty excited to introduce the Handmade weight to the family. Handmade was really an afterthought, but I think it was worth adding, and I hope you’ll have fun with it.

Features-Handmade

I’ve also reworked the Hand Drawn Shadow weight and renamed it Handmade Shadow.

Features-HandmadeShadow

H-H

Finally, I’ve redone the Engraved weight, so that the engraved effect shows up better in smaller weights.

Features-Engraved

A-A

Better OpenType Support

Thanks to the upgrade from Glyphs Mini to Glyphs App (Pro), CWW now correctly supports stylistic alternates as .ss01 and .salt. You can access these alternates in your glyphs palette in Adobe Illustrator and InDesign.

Alts

Updated Characters

Several characters in CWW are all new, including m, O/o, Q/q, U/u, V/v, W/w, X/x, Y/y, Yen, dashes, accents, and more.

W-W

Added Characters

Support for ordmasculine, ordfeminine, and zerosuperior-ninesuperior (shown in dark brown) has been added to the (Regular) family and Shadows family.

Features-New

New Displays

With such a fresh new start comes updated and expanded displays.

CWW-Cover-5

Updated User Guide

I try to include a well-designed, informative user guide with all of my products. In the CWW user guide, I feature each glyph of each individual weight in an interactive PDF, with bells and whistles in the form of bookmarks and hyperlinks.

A Fresh Coat of Whitewash

The characters are generally cleaned up and freed of stray points. This feels like spring cleaning. Church in the Wildwood is off to a fresh start! It’s been a great journey.

CWW-Cover-3

Thanks for reading along! I hope you enjoy the new and improved Church in the Wildwood!

7 thoughts on “Church in the Wildwood Gets a Renovation and a Fresh Coat of Whitewash

  1. Thank you so much for all the hard work you put into this beautiful font! I purchased it recently and I look forward to making something soon! All the best to you on your creative journeys, even the ones in the wild woods! 😀

    Like

  2. Wow. Reading this proves that there is a ton of work and a HUGE process to creating a font. I love that I did not understand half the lingo! Ordmasculine? Zero-Superior? Stray Points? Awesome!

    Like

    • Haha! I’m officially a nerd. 🙂 It was really quite a bit of work, but I’m glad I’ve finally done right by my first font (it deserved the improvements) and I’ve learned a lot in the process.

      Like

Thoughts? Share them!

